SCENARIO: Accents and Origins

8 Aug

I like to do accents. British, Indian, Australian, West African, Jamaican – you name it. It’s fun for me.

Sometimes Leah wants to play a scenario that I feel we’ve already “played out.”  But children need repetition, and I want to allow her the practice of whatever situation she’s interested in so when I acquiesce to her I need something extra for myself.

When I find Leah’s chosen scenario boring, I try to spice it up by practicing different accents and trying to give the dolls back-stories. Today, while playing Pet Shop I gave a RocaWear Darren a deep southern drawl.  I also tried to do a German accent for a red-headed doll and a surfer accent for Cali Guy Steven.

I wasn’t that great and kept getting the accents mixed up, but Leah didn’t mind.

I also tried to develop the dolls personalities a bit more. I had one woman (actually a Ghanian Dolls of the World whom we have re-cast as a SIS Chandra’s mom) bring in her granddaughter for pet shopping. In a split-second I decided this woman would be extremely business like saying things like “My granddaughter has met the criteria I put forth. She saved her money and has had perfect scores on her chore chart for four weeks in a row” and “She is aware that she must choose a pet that falls within certain parameters – namely it must live in a cage and weigh under 5 pounds.” and “So, Zahara, have you made a selection?” Leah didn’t miss a beat and seemed to be able to keep up even though the language and structure were not geared toward her the way most conversations are.

This personality and backstory development does several things – it keeps the Barbie-Playing-Mentor from getting bored silly, it models for the child that play doll play can have layers of complexity, it teaches them the concept of “personality” and individual differences and, best of all, it add dimensionality to the play so that a session head in almost any direction.

3 Responses to “SCENARIO: Accents and Origins”

  1. Vanessa February 10, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Isn’t it amazing that kids can pick up on certain things and just go with it. You seem like such a cool mom!

    • kristlsmithtyler February 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      I am often amazed when I say something I know she can’t possibly understand and she just goes with it. It’s also funny when I realize what she doesn’t know – like when we play a doctor scene and she prescribes a medication to my doll. I say “How often should I take it?” and she says “Seventeen.” Or I say, in a home scene, “Do you mind if I sit down” and she says “Yes”

  2. Carrie A May 16, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    I think todays youth are more culturally aware of accents and cultures then a lot of us were when we were younger. It amazes me how some children under the aget of five know two languages, and can speak for their parent if they only know one. Its almost as if children have a gift to filter out the discrimination that often comes from adults when we hear a different accent.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

