Okay, I’ll weigh in on the new Barbie bodies…

A few weeks ago, Mattel introduced their line of Fashionistas that includes new bodies they call Curvy, Petite, Tall, and Original.

What a cutie! She looks like Amber Rose
What a cutie! She looks like Amber Rose

I’ve been repeatedly asked my opinion of this announcement. Out of sheer exhaustion, I’ve decided to post my opinion. Let it be known that:

I am over the moon about it.

The body variety is absolutely great.  It’s overdue. It’s right on time. It’s worth a few rounds where one person yells: “Hip Hip” and everyone else yells, “Hooray!” No doubt, it’s a really, really big deal and I can’t wait to start getting them in the mail.

But the body variety is such a big deal to news outlets that a few other things are not getting the attention they deserve.

First, there’s the price. These dolls cost $9.99. That’s really cheap for such a wide variety of dolls. You can always get BBBBarbie for that price, but to be able to get Amber Rose at that price is so unexpectedly amazing that it makes me want to cry.

As someone who regularly re-bodies dolls anyway, I will buy lots of these dolls so I can have all the body shapes and skin tones available on demand. But the bonus is that I will get some really adorable heads!!

Mattel overdoes makeup from time to time.
Too much makeup for my taste. Oh yeah, and those earrings look painful.

Mattel overdoes the make up from time to time. Okay, for my taste, Mattel overdoes the makeup most of the time. But Mattel really got it right for these dolls.  They are gorgeous with minimal makeup. Light and dark, long hair and short, curly, wavy and straight. Or, as the marketing materials say:

By introducing more variety into the line, Barbie® is offering girls choices that are more reflective of the world they see today. The new 2016 Barbie® Fashionistas® line includes 4 body types, 7 skin tones, 22 eye colors, 24 hairstyles, and countless on-trend fashions and accessories.”

Look at these faces! These are the faces that accompany the body varieties that made a lot of us very happy.
Look at these faces! These are the faces that accompany the body varieties that made a lot of us very happy.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Liezel Louw says:

    They are cute but I dont see a lot of different face moulds

    1. Yeah – always an issue. I’m just glad they aren’t using the big MoonPie faced head molds they too often rely on for playline. I have (what feels like thousands of) Mbili’s but how can I complain too much when she’s so darn cute?

Leave a Reply

